My quest

My passion for wine began when, at the age of 18, I tasted some of the ‘grands crus’ in my grandfather’s wine cellar: a revelation! I started to study oenology in Bordeaux and eventually came to Chateauneuf-du-Pape as a wine consultant in 1998. We bought our first parcel of land here in 2008; that was the beginning of Mouriesse Vinum. 

Later we bought some more land on the other side of the river Rhone and diversified our production through partnerships which enabled me to produce other wines, still in small volumes (between 900 and 3000 bottles) and in the same spirit of respect for the ‘signature’ of the vines.

Elegance, complexity and freshness

I have always thought of wine as starting from the soil, a vision imparted by my first oenology teachers.  Our cuvees are based on individual parcels of land, where we cultivate our vines without synthetic chemicals . Our wines are ambassadors for their terroirs, in all their elegance.  The conditions in each parcel of land are always different : diverse soils, orientations, environments and microclimates. The wines we make reflect all these. In fact, the Chateauneuf du Pape AOC as a whole  is a good example of the many possible expressions of terroir in one area.

The grapes, harvested at exactly the right time in each parcel of land, are made into wine as simply as possible.  Mouriesse Vinum seeks to express the character of the terroir: finesse and elegance are paramount ; a quest for both complexity and freshness.

Serge Mouriesse

Life force

Passion is contagious.  As the grandaughter of a ‘vigneron’, wine has always been in my family.  Making wine is a discovery of life in various forms: hidden in the soil, blossoming in the vines, exuberant in the winery’s whispering vats, then secretive during the aging process, the birth of the vintage when it is bottled.

Wine is also a symbol of conviviality and civilization : from the first domestication of wild vines, wine has been a part of human culture, from ancient rites to present day ‘get togethers’.  It delights me that bottles of our wine bought for a birth or a marriage will become part of these celebrations of life.

Brigitte Mouriesse

cookie

Une quête

Ma passion pour le vin a débuté à l’âge de 18 ans en dégustant des grands crus dans la cave de mon grand-père, une révélation ! Commencent alors des études d’œnologie à Bordeaux puis des expériences professionnelles variées qui me conduisent à m’installer à Châteauneuf-du-Pape comme œnologue-conseil en 1998… puis à acheter ma première parcelle en Châteauneuf-du-Pape en 2008. Mouriesse Vinum naît !

La production de notre petit domaine est complétée grâce à des partenariats qui me permettent d’élaborer des cuvées complémentaires. Toujours en petits volumes, entre 900 et 3000 bouteilles par cuvée et dans le même esprit : le respect de la « signature » de la vigne sur ses raisins.

Élégance, complexité et fraîcheur

Depuis toujours je pense « vin » à partir des sols, une vision héritée de mes premiers maîtres en œnologie… d’où nos cuvées parcellaires!
Issues de vignes cultivées sans produits chimiques de synthèse, nos vins sont des ambassadeurs du terroir des vignes, en toute élégance. D’une parcelle à une autre, les conditions sont toujours différentes : les sols, l’orientation de la parcelle, son microclimat… les vins doivent être le reflet de chacune.
Les raisins, issus de vendanges à maturité optimale, sont vinifiés le plus simplement possible. Mouriesse Vinum cherche la complexité du terroir plus que la concentration. La concentration s’invitera d’elle même si elle le souhaite : avant tout de la finesse et de l’élégance! Une quête de complexité et de fraîcheur mêlée…

Serge Mouriesse

Rencontre

La passion est contagieuse… Petite fille de vigneron, le vin a toujours été une réalité familière. C‘est aussi une passionnante rencontre avec des formes variées du vivant : cachée dans les sols, épanouie dans les vignes, exubérante dans la cave pendant les vinifications quand les cuves « chuchotent » et plus secrète durant l’élevage. Jusqu’à la naissance de la cuvée à la mise en bouteille !

Le vin est aussi signe de rencontre et de civilisation : depuis la domestication de la « vigne-liane », le vin accompagne culturellement les Humains, des rites antiques à nos fêtes actuelles… C‘est un plaisir de penser que des bouteilles achetées dans une « année de naissance » ou lors d’un mariage viendront accompagner rencontres amicales et familiales !

Brigitte Mouriesse

cookie